Sunday, September 21, 2014

GNs Compilation - The Art of Falling Raindrops

label - export label good netlabels
genre - abstract hip-hop, nujazz, downtempo
release date - 2014

As a child I believed two things. I believed that if I ran in the rain fast enough, the raindrops would not hit me, and that the raindrops fall to the ground to the beat of music. Whether you believe it or not, I forgot about it for two decades, until one rainy day I listened to the fourth instalment of GoodNetlabels Compilation… Moved by the music, and reminded of these two childhood memories, I came up with the title for the compilation, one that evokes the atmosphere of that innocent time.
So how do raindrops fall, then? Can we call it art? Reason dictates that they fall down as the wind allows them to fall, but perhaps such an adult perspective is not the best one here, and perhaps it is better to use our imagination the way the artists who contributed to this outstanding compilation did?
GNs Compilation - Animal Spirit [2013]
GNs Compilation - Empty Shadows [2012]
GNs Compilation - Break Asymmetry [2011]
GNs Compilation - Jazzy Puzzle [2010]

01Kratos Himself - The Art of Falling Raindrops
02 Ghostpoet - Meltdown (Blossom remix)
03 Rusty Joints - Stay in The Moment
04 Nik Laker - In The Sky
05 Dr. Dundiff - On My Way
06 Ears - Great Leader
07 Eufoteoria - Oversleep (feat. Zaspał)
08 Lupid Ocampo - Day After
09 Maple Years - Wildflowers
10 Zen!th - Westway
11 Bluebells - Man Of Few Words
12 Cuefx Band - Fairplayer (live at Cracow)
13 Geomé-Trico - Silly Thoughts


Saturday, June 21, 2014

Comoc - Action Canceled EP

label - polish juke
genre - juke, footwork
release date - 2014

COMOC (previously known as CO) is a producer who initiated the publishing series called Polish Juke. ‘Footwitch’ EP was an intriguing embodiment of COMOC’s unconstrained creativity that seemed to pose no boundaries to musical forms, being a good reason for “deconstruction”.

01 Cancel #1
02 Cancel #2
03 Cancel #3
04 Cancel #4
05 Cancel #5


Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Phattcut - Raices EP

label - 5:55
genre - new beats
release date - 2014

Phattcut on facebook

01 Raices (feat. Jughan)
02 Heartbeat
03 Awakening
04 Here'n'Now
05 Nap
06 Quarks
07 Raices (en2ak Remix)
08 Raices (Eufoteoria Remix)
09 Raices (Teielte Remix)


Wednesday, June 11, 2014


genre - jazz, electronic, improvisation, acoustic
release date - 2014

PUNKT EKLEKTIK SESSION is the initiative of the Eklektik Session artists platform located in Wrocław, Poland. Project combines innovative concepts of Punkt Festival (Norway) with the integrative nature of Eklektik Session. Broad spectrum of common activities planned in 2014, such as special performances, studio workshops, panels and touring, not only allows Polish and Norwegian artists to exchange their experience and set ground for future collaborations but, above all, emancipates essential values in creating art.

01 Eklektik Ensemble - Abstract
02 Eklektik Ensemble - Strangers on the Grass
03 Eklektik Ensemble - Wild Game
04 Eklektik Ensemble - Odra
05 Eklektik Ensemble - Lost Souls
06 Eklektik Ensemble - Rudnik
07 Punkt - Live Remix of Lutosławski Quartet
08 Punkt - The Deep Serene (live)


Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Printempo - Fluctuation

label - export label
genre - downtempo
release date - 2014

Printempo is back after a long absence with a serving of strong, appetising downtempo. Thirteen new tracks are a treat for those expecting the best from the genre. The rhythm, the trans, the chill energy are all there, flowing steadily. It is blissful, but not static, changing from track to track, making it difficult to pick a favourite. At a time when we seem to value and demand more, faster, stronger, Printempo returns to the roots of the genre and does it unapologetically, masterfully. There are no boundaries, language barriers, expectations or empty promises. A paradise island of dreams, to which I drifted in slightly less than an hour. Where will I like it better than here? I press ‘repeat’ and I’m staying.
Printempo on GNs

01 PT01
02 PT02
03 PT03
04 PT04
05 PT05
06 PT06
07 PT07
08 PT08
09 PT09
10 PT10
11 PT11
12 PT12
13 PT13
14 Unbecoming
15 The Strut
16 Interruptions Taking Shape
17 Daybreaker
18 Pure Bliss
19 Subways Are For Sleeping
20 Hand In The Cloud (Part One)
21 Hand In The Cloud (Part Two)
22 Tired High
23 Sono di Montecarlo
24 Exit Call


Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Nik Laker - A Subjective Perspective

label - export label
genre - downtempo
release date - 2014

‘A Subjective Perspective’ is Nik Laker’s first official album. This British producer was first featured on Export Label in 2012 with a fantastic remix of ‘Who wants a bomb’ on IPWC Remixes, and recently on GNs Compilation with 'In The Sky'. Now he’s introducing his first solo album, where he fully showcases his achievements.

01 This Is The Place
02 Uncharted
03 When Will Then Be Now
04 Art & The Science
05 Metamorphical
06 What Science Forgot
07 The Habit Of Being Ourselves
08 Parachute
09 Dream Of
10 Invisibly Visible
11 Beyond
12 Art & The Reprise


Sunday, April 13, 2014

Mo Kolours - Mo Kolours

label - one handed music
genre - soul, downtempo, future beat
release date - 2014

Mo Kolours is a half-Mauritian, half-English producer, singer and percussionist. On his self-titled debut album he displays dazzling inventiveness and joyous spirit – unsurprising for someone raised on the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Lee Perry and A Tribe Called Quest while remaining ever curious about his Indian Ocean roots.
This album introduces a generous and endlessly creative talent to the world at large. And, as with his mesmerising live show, Mo Kolours doesn’t just give us a glimpse of the path less travelled but also offers us the fruits of his labours along the way.

01 Brixton House
02 Little Brown Dog
03 Curly Girly
04 Love For You (Humbeat)
05 Mike Black
06 Lighter Break
07 Say Word
08 Afro Quarters
09 Take Us (Interlude)
10 Streets Again
11 16-bit Slaves
12 In Her Eyes (Funk Heart)
13 Child's Play
14 Natural Disasters Wish List
15 Other Day House
16 Play It Loud (In Your Car)
17 Shepherd
18 Straight Ruk ft. Jeen Bassa


Monday, March 31, 2014

Free The Beats Vol​.​11

label - free the beats
genre - abstract hip-hop, downtempo
release date - 2014

Volume 11 of Freethebeats, is a digital only free release, and the days of our hand made covers are done and dusted. This release has an artwork made by BENNETT (Higher Ground Studio) and takes on a floaty dub infused tangent of electronica. Enjoy !
Freethebeats on GNs

01 Arts The Beat Doctor - Moebius' Travels
02 Ears ft.Wiseman Ali - Harmony
03 Cooking With Caustic - Purple Summer Dub
04 Illumes - Big Cactus
05 The Sufi Vendetta - Granular Ambience
06 I Digress - Chew Chew
07 Domba - Bipolar
08 Doo - Brain Fog Interlude
09 Itzme - For You
10 Junglemire - MOW
11 Hux Capacitor - Heavy Legs
12 Inkiman - Le Pays Des Masques