Friday, June 27, 2008

Asonic Garcia - The dead muse EP

genre - instrumental, electronic, lo-fi
release date - 2008

Vallejo, CA is a bay area city known mostly for some of the hyphy movement's premiere all-stars, along with high murder rates and big drug sales - but it's also the home of artists like ASONIC GARCIA, the lo-fi smoke music maestro who's releasing his new sampler ep "The Dead Muse". The title definitely gives away a dark undertone, but you'll find things aren't all grim in Dead Muse' thick sounds, which cover a psychedelic spectrum of moods and emotions - doing so while blending electronic music and boom bap in an organic way which rockets both genres straight into outerspace and beyond. This isn't an album that's stuck in rigid paradigms of the past - and this isn't an artist who's wearing blinders, only focusing on one aspect of our world: whether it be separation with loved one's, or breaking out of the dominant culture's fixed ways, these are the sounds of movement and of the struggle for positive change. Get with the sounds and find your own meaning within them - get up high and swim in the sky, float around in the clouds and come back down from the Vallejo Space Station with a new perspective on what it means to experience music.
His music on GNs and thanks to Asup - Retrofuturism.
Asonic on MySpace.

01 Lone chief cosmic
02 Seperated daze
03 Communications delay
04 Market st march
05 Smoke bomb proof
06 Sunset reflect
07 Vallejo space station
08 Aerosal evening
09 Lost in fuzz
10 After karma theres life


No comments: