Friday, September 30, 2011

Footprints 18 - Joteff presents Wandering Constellations

genre - jazz, funk, mix
release date - 2011

“Wandering Constellations” is basically a trip throughout the music of the seventies. Jacek Furtak has skillfully mixed broadly-defined Polish jazz and funk music along with different sounds coming from various places on the map of Europe. The mix is also enriched with some new tracks from labels such as Strut or Now-Again. Let us take a look at the author himself: Joteff is a promoter, record collector and a DJ, previously co-responsible for Basmentalism Poland project. He’s been publishing in magazines such as Klan Magazyn, Hiro, Hip Hop Magazyn, Polska The Times. Once having his broadcast in Warsaw’s Jazz Radio, now he’s engaged in a sociomusical project called Jazzmentalism. Here’s a short manual from Jacek: “I suggest taking a seat in a comfy armchair, along with a bottle of red wine, and listen…”
The mix was recorded with the use of analogue records exclusively. Moreover, it is available in a form of a nicely packed, 50 copies limited CD. The cover art was created by Radek Drutis known for his cooperation with Stones Throw Records.
Footprints on GNs.

01 Jerzy Milian - Never More
02 MRR-ADM - Untitled
03 The Heliocentrics - Joyride
04 Csaba Deseő Jazz Quintet & Friends - Message
05 Stringtronics - Ballata
06 Arp-Life - Baby Bump
07 Laboratorium - Przejazd
08 Milan Svoboda & Polish-Czech Big Band - Tribute To G.E.
09 Piotr Figiel Ensemble - Agent 008
10 Marc Moulin - Tohubohu - Part I
11 Mulatu Astatke And The Heliocentrics - An Epic Story
12 Hydroponic Sound System - Delirium
13 Dzamble - Swieto Strachow
14 Endaf Emlyn - Dawns y Pair
15 Heavy Metal Sextet - Prosze Natychmiast Przestac Padac
16 The Natural Yogurt Band - Soft Cheese


1 comment:

Kakariki said...

This is really, really nice. Thanks for finding!