Sunday, February 21, 2010

Footprints 13

genre - jazz, mix
release date - 2010

The author of volume 13, a turntablist straight out of Kielce being a Displace Image Crew member goes by the name of Master’s Voice and is the winner in "Freestyle" category in 2007 Battle. Marcin Lisowski (Master’s Voice) is also in charge of keeping up the project, the successor of a legendary Polish turntablism-oriented site, Mr. Jayes is the one responsible for the cover of the 13th Footprints episode. When it comes to the sound, despite the fact that Master’s Voice has compiled various pieces performed by an orchestra or bigger bands as well as by small jazz combos, the concept seems to oscillate around big band style, enclosing the past 30 years of jazz music into a merely 30-minute set.
Previous parts of Footprints are here.
Master’s Voice on MySpace and on GNs.

01 Milt Jackson Orchestra – Namesake
02 John Coltrane – Countdown
03 Wes Montgomery – Scarborough Fair
04 Young Holt Unlimited – How Insensitive
05 George Shearing and the Montgomery Brothers – Love For Sale
06 Terry Gibbs Dream Band – Day In, Day Out
07 Charlie Scott – The Lady is a Tramp
08 The Dave Brubeck Quartet – Georgia On My Mind
09 Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington – Azalea
10 Johnny Griffin and Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – Tickle Toe
11 Bob Layzell Band – Basie’s Jump


No comments: