Saturday, August 20, 2011

Ears - Sea Legs

lebel - export label
genre - abstract hip-hop
release date - 2011

Versatile, instrumental, ambient, complete and ambitious. These adjectives best describe the new material by Ears (Daniel O’Toole). The release of this first solo project of the Australian was preceded by his guest appearances on compilations of the series Free the Beats and Break Asymmetry. This way Ears has been preparing us for something more substantial, something introduced by such tracks as ‘Red Rope’ or ‘Bus Trip’. This something is his album Sea Legs that features not only fantastic violin, piano or vibraphone parts, but also a mass of electronic and ambiguous sounds, that fantastically go together with the light equivocal rhythm section.
‘Sea Legs’ is certainly the culmination of Ears’s musical influences. It is also the proof that abstract and ambitious hip-hop is still a source of inspiration and a genre that has not yet come a full circle.
Translation Ola Górska
Cover design Daniel O’Toole
Mastering Jack Prest

01 Magic carpet
02 Red Rope
03 Brass buttons
04 Video game
05 Bustrip
06 Lazerbeard
07 Passing
08 Beastman
09 Boomclap
10 The trembling fires of dreams
11 Sea legs (feat. Daniel Kowalik)
12 Hello
13 Looking
14 Angelic wolf (feat. Bukhu)


No comments: