Saturday, June 30, 2012

Vintage Beats - Saturday Night

netlabel - dusted wax kingdom
genre - instrumental hip-hop, jazz
release date - 2012

Here is the debut album from american producer Jeremy Wood (a.k.a. Vintage Beats). "Saturday Night" LP contains 11 extremely enjoyable blunted head-nodders produced with MPC and flavoured with beloved crispy sound from the oldschool hip-hop era.

01 Ability
02 Unsafe
03 Heaven Or Hell
04 Sharks
05 Griffin
06 Mancini
07 Saturday Night
08 Save
09 Converstation
10 Sea
11 Old Man


Friday, June 29, 2012

Jazzo & Melodiesinfonie - Wasser EP

label - soulection
genre - intrumental hip-hop, downtempo
release date - 2012

With so many beat makers in existence out there in the world, Jazzo & Melodiesinfonie stood out to us because their style and approach to making music is so diverse within every single track. The element that stands out most in their production is that every single track that they create has an average of 2-3 segments or breakdowns that create a new sound direction and vibe. It's not so much that they are the first ones to ever do it, but they are one of the first ones to do it right and consistently. With that said, despite this EP consisting of 4 tracks, there is really 7-8 tracks total within due to their signature style of implementing multiple tracks within one.
Jazzo & Melodiesinfonie on soundcloud

01 Am Meer
02 Der Stiller See
03 Verschmutztes Wasser
04 Stiller See ft. Soia


Thursday, June 28, 2012

Modlee & Vlooper - Sunwalk EP

label - soulection
genre - soul, electronic
release date - 2012

VLOOPER is part of the Alaclair Ensemble who have a deep progressive momentum that is spreading worldwide. His solo work and collaboration release ‘Analog Love’ with Modlee was a great success in 2010. The whole vibe of this EP has a future-soul and forward thinking sound direction that compliments Modlee’s vocals. Modlee compliments the depth and style of Vlooper’s productions.

01 All Matter (Bilal's)
02 Doo
03 Pon DI LUV
04 Dancin'
05 Sunwalk ft. Kenlo (Alaclair)


Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Superpoze - The Iceland Sound EP

genre - downtempo, electronic, remix
release date - 2012

Superpoze on GNs

01 The Iceland Sound
02 London Alone
03 The Iceland Sound (Part 2)
04 The Iceland Sound (Les Filles Et Les Garçons Remix)
05 The Iceland Sound (Zerolex Remix)
06 The Iceland Sound (Samba De La Muerte Remix)


Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Nanogram - It Won't Come To That /​/​/ Lick, Snare

label - vertical circle
genre - abstract hip-hop
release date - 2012

Vertical Circle is an independent audio/visual label formed by Andy Perry (aka Phology, Onesemble, Nanogram) featuring works  from creative people who enjoy...well......being creative! We DJ, produce, dabble in art and photography and create original music and sound designs for short films and commercial video. Please visit our website for more info.

01 Lick, Snare
02 It Won't Come To That


Monday, June 25, 2012

Konektiv Elements

label -  first word records
genre - abstract hip-hop, instrumental hip-hop
release date - 2012

First Word Records official website

01 Hifi
02 Opus One
03 The Weirdness
04 Camberwell Interlude
05 Cupcakes
06 Know Who You Are
07 Girl Sh*t
08 Fantastic Vampire (Sa-Ra Tribute)


Saturday, June 9, 2012

Maed Meva - Figures

label - export label
genre - turntablism, instrumental hip-hop, downtempo
release date - 2012

Export Label proudly presents an EP that is a result of a collaboration between a producer – Maed, and a turntablist - Meva. It is a mix of down tempo compositions and subtle scratching.
After a long break, Maed returns to his musical roots. Over the past few months he’s been preoccupied with his project Deam, where he’s been introducing his own vision of electronic club music to Polish audiences. But now, he’s decided to bring back what he’s best known for – instrumental hip – hop. His first record was released in 2008 by the 16 Verses Label. It was an album inspired by the likes of Madlib, Bonobo and Kero-One, all fused into an original vision of Maed. In this new release, one can hear how much has changed since the first record. Maed has grown, training himself in the post – hop – hop sounds of artists like Flying Lotus or Teebs.
Meva’s scratches are the perfect supplement for Maed’s beats. Meva has been scratching since 2006, when he put down his electric guitar and bought a pair of turntables. He is a veteran of scratch sessions, workshops and battles all around Poland. Meva hails from the new school generation of scratch musicians, but in his recording debut he resisted the temptation to use well – known samples and sentences. His cuts are specially selected sounds that fit perfectly into the melancholic music of Maed.
As a bonus, the listener will get a track called „Atak Robotów” („Aliens Attack”). Maed recorded it with Meva and Lapsky (Polish DJ champion) for a Ukrainian – Polish compilation called “It’s not boring – It’s ambient”.
In „Figures” the listener finds a modest, decently made scratch – music suite. It is not devoid of a jazz feeling, one that is pumping some fresh air into the ever-present, overhyped laptop beats. It is an EP on a juncture, one between electronic music and jazz, turntables and beat machines. Fans of Ricci Rucker or Onra will feel at home.
Maed on GNs

01 Figure 1
02 Figure 2
03 Figure 3
04 Figure 4
05 Figure 5
06 Figure 6

bonus track
Maed - Atak Kosmitów (feat. Meva & Lapsky)